About the Blue Ridge Regional Jail Authority

The Blue Ridge Regional Jail Authority was created in November 1994 by Member Jurisdictions for the purpose of developing and operating a regional jail system; which was established by acquiring, renovating, and expanding existing jail facilities and constructing additional jail facilities. Member Jurisdictions were faced with increasing jail populations resulting in the need for additional capacity, which was exacerbated by the poor physical condition of many of the existing facilities. Until 2007, the Member Jurisdictions were the Cities of Bedford and Lynchburg and the Counties of Bedford, Campbell, and Halifax. Faced with similar problems of overcrowding and deteriorating physical structures, the Counties of Amherst and Appomattox joined the Authority in 2007. In July 2013, the City of Bedford reverted to Town status and subsequently withdrew from the Authority. The Authority is governed by a Board made up of 12 members, including the Sheriff of each jurisdiction as required by the Code of Virginia.

The BRRJA assumed operation of the jail facilities on July 1, 1998. Christopher R. Webb served as the Authority’s first Administrator until his retirement. Elton W. Blackstock was selected to serve as Administrator in February 2009. Timothy E. Trent served as Administrator from October 2012 through December 2020 following Mr. Blackstock’s retirement. Matthew C. Marsteller was selected as Assistant Administrator also in October 2012. In August 2016, Mr. Marsteller became Assistant Administrator of Inmate Services and Support, and E. Chad Lipscomb took over the position in February 2019. Joshua L. Salmon joined the Authority as Assistant Administrator of Security in August 2016 and was selected as Administrator beginning January 2021. B. Keith Lockridge joins the Authority as Assistant Administrator of Security in January 2021. The BRRJA operates five facilities. It was the first multi-site regional jail in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Four of the five original facilities currently in operation are the Bedford Adult Detention Center, the Campbell County Adult Detention Center, the Halifax County Adult Detention Center, and the Lynchburg Adult Detention Center. The recently constructed Amherst County Adult Detention Center opened in December 2011. The Moneta Adult Detention Center was closed and demolished after construction of the Amherst facility.

The Authority employs 410 persons and has an average daily inmate population in excess of 1100. In July 2016, the BRRJA achieved 18 years of providing for public safety in a humane and
fiscally responsible manner.